Boot recommendations - new adult ice skater | Golden Skate

Boot recommendations - new adult ice skater

SevAleyna

Spectator
Hi! I’m a new adult figure skater. I’m 5’9 in height and weigh 76kg and live in Kent UK. I have good flexibility (if this is relevant haha). I am looking to buy skates but I’m stuck on what I should be looking for as a lot of the recommendations I’ve seen are aimed for teenagers / children.

I would love a pair that can take me through the learn to skate program and if I’m good enough- I will be able to perform single jumps with. I have heard the Edea overtures might be good for me.

Please help! I am also nervous to go to a skate shop as not many are around here and I do not want to be pushed to buy things when I have no knowledge on prices etc.

Last edited:

bostonskaterguy86

On the Ice
Country
United-States
Hi! I’m a new adult figure skater. I’m 5’9 in height and weigh 76kg and live in Kent UK. I have good flexibility (if this is relevant haha). I am looking to buy skates but I’m stuck on what I should be looking for as a lot of the recommendations I’ve seen are aimed for teenagers / children.

I would love a pair that can take me through the learn to skate program and if I’m good enough- I will be able to perform single jumps with. I have heard the Edea overtures might be good for me.

Please help! I am also nervous to go to a skate shop as not many are around here and I do not want to be pushed to buy things when I have no knowledge on prices etc.

Welcome to the forum!! :)

You hit the nail on the head - a lot of boot recommendations are tailored towards young skaters. Even when manufacturers label a boot as rated for singles / doubles / etc., they are often making that recommendation with children or teens in mind. Thankfully, some companies are starting to change how they do this - most notably Jackson, which has a guide that uses skill level and weight as factors.