Best ways to build strength/flexibility? | Golden Skate

Best ways to build strength/flexibility?

Ange

Rinkside
I have just started ice skating as an adult beginner. I am wondering what others do off the ice to build the specific strength needed for figure skating? Group fitness type activities would be ideal due to budget. Having said that, I would like to know the most effective ways to build strength and flexibility. How many times per week should I be working on strength if I am just starting out? Thank you in advance!

Mussique

On the Ice
Tons of jumping rope and planks. Leg stretches (look for ballet or yoga workouts), try also hip openers and back flexibility if you're a girl (it's useful once you get started on spins and spirals).
I'm also an adult beginner and I've been stretching about half an hour daily since I started. I haven't been stretching this Holidays mostly because I injured myself, but I plan to start again asap.
For strength training I do mostly jumping rope (be sure to ask your coach so you can train the right jumping position beforehand) and some biking/running, but I'm not the best here. For a beginner you're not going to be needing that much. Look for exercises to build up rotation...and then despair (LOL). I can rotate an axel off ice right now but I only know how to do waltz, sal and toe, and they're awful so there's no talk of going up jumps right now, LOL. Core strength (planks and that kind of stuff) will help you with spins and jumping position, but, again, I'm not the best here.
Btw both these activities are super cheap and don't require special equipment :p
If you're looking for group activities I'd guess ballet or modern dance could be helpful, as well as those core/legs workouts convos that there are in many gyms.

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
Pilates, TRX, yoga, spin class(bike), barre.

kathrynskates

Rinkside