How long did it take you to learn Axel? | Golden Skate

How long did it take you to learn Axel?

iceskating21

On the Ice
My daughter was doing some practice like a waltz jump continued by back spin. I don’t think that’s called Axel. But coach told me she can do 70% of times. She has been practicing that ever for almost a year. I never saw her try the real Axel - jump up, turn and land. I wonder is this the common way to learn Axel? How long does it take on average?

alyssamarie

On the Ice
Country
United-States
Hi!

So about a year ago I started learning my axel. my coach makes me do waltz jumps in a row, waltz back spins, and waltz loops. I still do this today. I'd say 3 months ago once I could to the motion 90% of the time, I started doing a "faxel" from stand still. So an axel with one rotation to try to get the foot and air position right. I'm still working on that now, and my axel walkthroughs are solid, but I haven't landed it on ice yet. my coach makes me practice every thing off ice, including the full axel, which i can do. So almost a year and I still don't have it, but ymmv. I can't work on it that much since my skates are not supportive.

vlaurend

Final Flight
It took me a year to start landing the axel on the floor, then another year before I could land it on the ice without the harness. So, in total, 2 years.

kelliusmaximus

Rinkside
It seems a little overkill to work solely on waltz backspins for a year without moving on to other drills, off ice axels, harness jumping, and real attempts. I've never found them extremely helpful or reflective of my ability to do axels even though they're a standard exercise for learning them.