For the Female Skaters Only | Golden Skate

For the Female Skaters Only

sarahspiral

Rinkside
Hello! To any men that are on here, I do apologize but please do not read any further. Trust me, you will not want to read this question. But if you do, consider yourself forewarned.

To the ladies out there, I have an embarrassing question. Can anyone recommend a brand/type of maxi pad that I can wear during a competition? I know that the obvious answer is to wear a tampon but I don't want to do that. I've worn them before but there are some personal reasons why that is just not a good option for me. Of course, I want something that is not going to be bulky enough to show through my dress b/c you know how tight these figure skating dresses are! But I also need one that is going to be heavy duty. My periods are abnormally heavy for the first few days. My other concern is that I'll be doing a lot of jumps so I don't want it to fall off! I usually wear the kind with wings which gives me confidence during my practices that it won't fall off but with my super short dress, I'm concerned about wearing one with wings. I've heard of Libra Invisible pads but I've never used them. And lastly, I certainly don't want a "crunchy" diaper sound while I'm skating! Any advice? I'm really stressing about this and I almost decided not to be in a competition because of this issue! Sorry this is so TMI but I'm embarrassed to ask my friends at the rink about this! Thanks.

MalAssada

Medalist
You mention skating dresses... Would this pad be for competition, or practice?

Anyway, I recently bought the ultra-thin Always pads for Nights and I was very happy. I usually wear leggings and they don't show at all. Also, I'm not sure if it's possible (I never made it to competition stage), but could you wear thin knickers under your dress so you could use the winged pads, and also have an extra layer to prevent accidents?

Spinning

On the Ice