Keeping straight in jumps? | Golden Skate

Keeping straight in jumps?

Ange

Rinkside
Hi everyone, I'm looking for some tips/advice because I cannot get a straight position in even a waltz jump. :confused2: I tend to have my weight forward, meaning that when I jump up, my torso is slanted forwards if that makes sense. I'm only working on rotation off ice, but I have the same issue, and I can't get a full rotation. When I (sort of) straighten up, I feel like my weight is backwards and that I will fall backwards. I have been working on waltz jumps for about 2 months and the issue isn't improving. Maybe I'm just not a natural jumper but it's so frustrating not even seeing a little bit of improvement. So any advice?? What helped you?

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
Hi everyone, I'm looking for some tips/advice because I cannot get a straight position in even a waltz jump. :confused2: I tend to have my weight forward, meaning that when I jump up, my torso is slanted forwards if that makes sense. I'm only working on rotation off ice, but I have the same issue, and I can't get a full rotation. When I (sort of) straighten up, I feel like my weight is backwards and that I will fall backwards. I have been working on waltz jumps for about 2 months and the issue isn't improving. Maybe I'm just not a natural jumper but it's so frustrating not even seeing a little bit of improvement. So any advice?? What helped you?

First of all, what has your coach said and offered as technique improvement advice?

coucou84

On the Ice
Before you start reading this: like Ic3Rabbit said: listen to what advice your coach has given you first. What I wrote below is what I think should help.

Remember that a jump is a jump before it's a jump with rotation. I would start by working on just jumping on the spot and make sure to jump UP and not bend at the waist. When you bend to jump, make sure you bend in the ankles and not the hips.