Tips for pronating / blade positioning | Golden Skate

Tips for pronating / blade positioning

bunnybarista

If I risk it all, could you break my fall?~
On the Ice
Hello hello, I am new to GoldenSkate but have been lurking for the past few months - I'm an adult skater, started about 5 months ago after having skated recreationally as a child. I am in the Adult Learn to Skate program here in the US in addition to having occasional private lessons. I am here because I love the way skating makes me feel - eventually I hope to enter the world of ice dance and maybe even make it to adult nationals many years from now. :biggrin: For now, I'm taking it slow and enjoying being on the ice again. I skate about 3 times a week right now.

Long story short: I am in the Jackson Artiste skates and like them... except that I am always on an inside edge and find it basically impossible to be on an outside edge. This became apparent when I was learning one-foot glides and would curve sharply inwards instead of being on a flat or even an outside edge. One of the group coaches believes that the blade is positioned improperly for my body (presumably because I pronate a bit). Unfortunately, the Artiste is an entry-level boot-blade combo and, to my knowledge, the blade cannot be moved. I'm on a budget and thought I had made a two-year (ish) investment with the Artistes, so it's quite a blow to realize I may need to upgrade to a boot with separate blade so quickly. (The resale value for a skate like this will be very low.)