How to not destroy my skates | Golden Skate

How to not destroy my skates

wobblepro

Rinkside
So, I was hating on my rink's rental skates the other day when I suddenly realized that I can do something about it. Now I own one of the cheapest women's skates the pro shop sells. Yay! But now that I have them, I haven't the faintest clue what to actually do with them. I'd like them to last as long as I can safely and effectively get away with wearing them. I'm a beginner and skate 7-10 hours a week. I think the dude who sold them to me said to sharpen them once a month. I know not to walk on concrete and such without a blade guard. But I don't quite know what a blade guard is. I've heard about hard guard and soakers. Are there also soft guards? And can I leave them in a hot car during the day when I go to work after public skate (they have heat molding, but how hot is too hot)? Can I just jump on the ice with them or do I have to wear them in first at home? Anything else I should know about not basically throwing $250 down the drain?

illogicalskittle

Rinkside
A blade guard is a hard guard. Different terminology depending on where you've picked it up from but they're essentially the same.

Eh well the same goes for soft guards. They're soakers.

Depending on what model of skates you have, different brands have different methods of break-in. Edeas and Harlicks have very specific methods of breaking in if I'm not wrong.

Since you've gotten the cheapest model of skates, they're definitely not for jumping in. They won't have the support you'll need as an adult.

As far as basic skate care goes, please dry off your skates after use! Like you gotta wipe them down really dry before putting them in your bag and leaving the rink. Then when you get home, you'll have to open the bag and let it air. If you live in a humid climate, you may need to take precautionary measures to make sure the blades don't rust.

Can't answer stuff about the car but this is all I know!