Dutch waltz | Golden Skate

Dutch waltz

bunnybarista

If I risk it all, could you break my fall?~
On the Ice
I don't know how many ice dancers are floating around on this forum, but... I just started learning the Dutch Waltz and I'm looking for fun and slow songs that are more or less waltzes. (i.e. they might not be a traditional waltz, but if they are in 3/4 it should work.) Any suggestions? Bonus points: has Prince ever done a song that could work as a waltz? I kept trying to google Prince and waltzes but just got fairy tale results... whereas I meant the purple one, Prince Rogers Nelson :laugh: Thanks in advance!

SmallAminal

On the Ice
This might not be where you were going with the music choices, but in addition to the "traditional" Dutch Waltz music (which gets dreadful when you hear it all day), Skate Canada has "contemporary choices" as well:

You and me - Lifehouse; and
I"ll Be - Edwin McCain

MiraiFan

Final Flight
I think a lot of Oldies also have a waltz tempo--think Elvis, etc. if you want to go that direction.

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
I don't know how many ice dancers are floating around on this forum, but... I just started learning the Dutch Waltz and I'm looking for fun and slow songs that are more or less waltzes. (i.e. they might not be a traditional waltz, but if they are in 3/4 it should work.) Any suggestions? Bonus points: has Prince ever done a song that could work as a waltz? I kept trying to google Prince and waltzes but just got fairy tale results... whereas I meant the purple one, Prince Rogers Nelson :laugh: Thanks in advance!

I am a former competitive ice dancer!

Here's "Place In Heaven" by Prince and last I remember it's 3/4 time. ;)

https://youtu.be/b8fdP5f-yJU

bunnybarista

On the Ice