NBC Sports Gold Figure Skating Pass | Golden Skate

NBC Sports Gold Figure Skating Pass

xabia

On the Ice
Hi everyone. I didn't know that NBC offered a streaming service and wondered how it compares to Eurosport. Since I live in the UK I've been using Eurosport Player for the past 5 years and most of the time it's ok, although the timing schedule can be a bit up in the air, especially if snooker tends to run late and the skating just has to wait until it's finished! The only difference I can see with the NBC package is the inclusion of the US Nationals (and Regionals). Everything else is available on Eurosport and Eurosport Player. Who are the commentators on NBC? I wouldn't welcome listening to the drivel from Tara and Johnnie, especially since Eurosport have the best commentators in Chris Howarth, Mark Hanretty and Catherine Whittaker. I would consider switching to the NBC package next year when my Eurosport package terminates. What do NBC Gold Pass users think of the service? Would they recommend that I switch to it next year? :scratch2:

Moxiejan

Medalist
Country
United-States
I think the NBC pass is available only in USA (and maybe Canada); geoblocked everywhere else. IIRC, Skate America was the only event that had Tara/Johnny commentary. The video quality & general reliability have been far superior to what we got on Ice Network; well worth the subsciption money for me. Also, it is compatible with Apple devices, a big improvement over IN!

RobinA

On the Ice
I'm liking it. You can watch the events any time, so no worries about scheduling. I'm missing commentary somewhat, because sometimes I just don't get why people score higher or lower than I think they should. No commercials is nice, as is seeing the whole event. I feel it's worth the money if you plan on watching most of it.

ribbit

On the Ice