Cool/historical look back at 72 National Championships | Golden Skate

Cool/historical look back at 72 National Championships

CoyoteChris

Record Breaker
I did not know the first pair (junior pair) of African Americans won the National title in 72.. Plus tons of other things I did not know.

http://skateguard1.blogspot.com/201...YTQV8lZCCM6Nc1_bxyKa5V2b38Y9gr9Ih4vwSoLPFcmQ4

Very interesting. But I had to go back and review the history of video tape to understand how the current video quality could be so bad....Reels cost $300 per hour (unknown what year for inflation)of tape and degraded over the decades...and many tapes were just reused....So what was recorded the year I graduated from College the first time looked great back then but terrible now....It would take a Peter Jackson to digitally enhance these old skates....

el henry

Go have some cake. And come back with jollity.
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
Ryan's blog is certainly a trove of skating history (I remember when it was "Is that a Skate Guard in your pocket?":laugh:

But mostly I looooove this quote from John Misha Petkevich, Harvard student and US champ who finished second in this comp:

"I made a couple of crucial mistakes in technique that pretty well tells the story. I'm by no means finished. I still have the Olympics and the World Championships [but] this is the precise reason I never wanted to quit school to devote full time to skating. There are too many other experiences in life."

Almost 50 years later, words that still ring true:rock:

moonvine

All Hail Queen Gracie
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
Ryan's blog is certainly a trove of skating history (I remember when it was "Is that a Skate Guard in your pocket?":laugh:

But mostly I looooove this quote from John Misha Petkevich, Harvard student and US champ who finished second in this comp: