Is it a big change to change blades 1/4 inch smaller? | Golden Skate

Is it a big change to change blades 1/4 inch smaller?

Sam L

Medalist
I have actually done this recently but I also changed blades so it was a big change for me but if you’re staying in same blade type is it a big change to move to a size smaller?

I'm a beginner, so take my comment with that in mind. My first pair of boots and blades ended up being a bit too big. I ended up going down one size boot and 1/4" off the blade. I swapped out for a stiffness level up, but kept the same blade, just a smaller one. I noticed a big difference in a good way, but I think much of that is attributed to having a properly sized boot, rather than a smaller blade. I do think it's a bit easier to spin now, which is probably largely due to the shorter blade size, but the difference isn't leaps and bounds.

karne

in Emergency Backup Mode
Record Breaker
Country
Australia
Yes, a very big change, though mine was half an inch smaller. (Edeas with a smaller sole profile than Jacksons, apparently.) I couldn't do more than wobble around in circles for a couple of days, my first lesson in them was me re-learning crossovers, and I'm still struggling to re-learn a loop.

Now admittedly my tale comes with the caveat that four weeks after getting them mounted I managed to hurt myself (not on the ice) badly enough that I was then off for seven months, although this was unexpectedly good for the adjustment because it meant my brain had nearly forgotten what it was like to be in the old 10 inch blades.

Vicki7

On the Ice
I actually went the other way - switched from Edea to Jackson boots and my fitter said my current blades were too short. So I got the same blade in the new, longer size. It was weird at first, couldn't hit the rocker easily at all. Getting better now, 5 and a half months in. I'd imagine going shorter must be even more of an adjustment.

karne

in Emergency Backup Mode
Record Breaker
Country
Australia