Ice Dance: Canasta Tango - timing gripe. 28 steps? | Golden Skate

Ice Dance: Canasta Tango - timing gripe. 28 steps?

Sinus Pi

Rinkside
I've been trying to get into some dance routines, starting with some simple ones like Swing or Canasta Tango, and I stumbled across a conundrum. The Canasta Tango, according to the pattern, has 28 steps. Twenty eight. 7x4. I'm no expert on tango in general, but my general knowledge of music patterns and those few clips of tangoes I found online say they are more or less simple 32-beaters, sometimes with a catchy 8-beat question-and-answer motif - all in all, the most typical 8x4 beat or a multiple thereof. And yet there's the 7, and people go and dance a 2x14-step pattern, seemingly ignoring the fact that they're shifting in regard to the music. Oh, there's also a 24-beat variant with some steps skipped, but that's only a bit better... So either the world has gone crazy and people dance with little concern for alignment with music, or I'm missing something. :p So which is it? :D

Edit: So Willow Waltz is 9x6 steps, which means that if the music has the usual 8-step verse, you steal one step from the next verse. 14-Step has 5x4 steps. But the Dutch Waltz, Swing Dance, Cha Cha, Fiesta Tango all follow a nice, proper 8x4/6. This is crazy. o_O

dorispulaski

Wicked Yankee Girl
Country
United-States
It might help to watch people skating these basic dances, with explanations.

Those are some of the basic compulsory dances kids learn when they start ice dance in the US. Some different dances are used in Europe. Here is a nice youtube channel:

From their "About"
We are Senior ice dancers Kseniya Ponomaryova and Oleg Altukhov. We skate for the US, and make skating videos to share with you what we know. Let's make this journey together!

Canasta Tango
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIKwr7qtmWg

Willow Waltz
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4TyP84ZXgo

Dutch Waltz
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=na8a7kh_rxU

Swing