Concussion protocols? | Golden Skate

Concussion protocols?

moonvine

All Hail Queen Gracie
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
I have a friend who is an adult skater. Apparently she fell backwards and slammed her head into the ice today and her husband is on Facebook asking what to do. She was checked out by ER and “may” have a concussion. Any advice? Don’t skate for x amount of time?

tstop4me

Final Flight
Country
United-States
This isn't the sort of advice that should be asked for on social media and dispensed over the InterNet. Didn't they ask the ER doctor for follow-up instructions and precautions?

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
This should be advised by her doctor or doctors and any other medical professional she would deal with in her healing process.

She would have to be cleared by the above to return to skating.

Again, doctor and only doctor should advise.

bostonskaterguy86

On the Ice
Country
United-States
I’m a registered nurse with about a year of experience working in a concussion clinic. I obviously can’t give very specific advice about your friend but from my experience, if there’s a concussion it’s really important to avoid both physical and mental exertion while you’re healing. Concussions can be tricky to diagnose because it’s not something that shows up on a head scan (CT/MRI) but the symptoms are often pretty reliable (headache, nausea, fatigue, etc). I’d strongly recommend careful followup with a doctor and I wouldn’t return to skating just yet, especially if there are any symptoms at all. Concussion recovery is tricky because folks often start to feel better when they’re resting, and then any type of physical or mental exercise will suddenly trigger symptoms. It’s best to be very cautious.

moonvine

All Hail Queen Gracie
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
I posted "no skating until cleared by doctor." Will she listen? I doubt it.

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country