Interview with Daniil Gleikhengauz | Golden Skate

Interview with Daniil Gleikhengauz

moriel

Record Breaker
Interview with Daniil Gleikhengauz
from: https://www.figurist.ru/zhurnal_moskovkii_figurist/Figurist_1_2019.pdf
translation: me

Q: Daniil, you as an athlete have a unique experience of working first in single skating under the guidance of coaches such as Natalia Dubinskaya, Viktor Kudryavtsev, Alla Belyaev, and then a three-year period of ice dance with Alexander Zhulin. What of this experience influenced your desire to become a choreographer? After all, the career in singles was a major component of your
sporting fate and being a choreographer is a non-standard choice.
A: Probably, the first thing that affected me was that my mother was a ballet dancer of the Bolshoi Theater, who had been preparing me for a ballet career from childhood. I studied choreography as long as I can remember, so I didn’t have much choice.

Q: Where did figure skating come from?