Can't do Adult LTS Level 5 | Golden Skate

Can't do Adult LTS Level 5

sarahariz

Rinkside
I'm an adult skater, and I've been skating for about 3 1/2 years. I've been stuck on LTS 5 for about 2 of those years. The only thing I can really do is the swing roll, which I could do pretty much the first time I tried it. A lot of my problem is fear. I have a shoulder that dislocates (originally from falling over the handle bars of a bike). I'm afraid of falling and dislocating it, and of course, not being able to get up off the ice if my shoulder is dislocated. There isn't really any appliance one can wear that will keep it from dislocating (at least that is what I've been told by several physical therapists).

I seem to be getting worse instead of better. I can't do two foot spins as my feet spread apart. I can't do three turns unless I'm right up at the wall. Backward one foot glides on the circle scare me, and as soon as I pick my foot up when trying to do the outside edge, I go right to the inside edge. I'm afraid to lean. I can do backwards progressive crossovers on one side only as long as I'm right near the wall. I"ve gotten new skates, gotten my blades moved, and gotten new blades. I can tell a positive difference, but none has been enough to change my overall ability to do what's at this level.

I have an individual coach, I practice at least twice a week, and now my daughter (who is way more advanced) is trying to help me. I think I need a lot of encouragement, and I think I've developed a lot of bad habits because of my fear.

Does anyone have any suggestions and has anyone overcome a stall like this? I'm signed up to go to the adult figure skating camp at Sun Valley with two friends, but I'm practically at the point of giving up skating and cancelling my trip!

hanyuufan5

✨**:。*
Medalist