Self-taught figure skater | Golden Skate

Self-taught figure skater

Sam L

Medalist
No, not me. I’ve had a coach since I was learning to skate. But I’ve seen and spoken to an adult skater that seems to skate like 3 times a week without a coach. I have suggested they get a coach but they refuse. I see they’re doing flips now. But the technique is not right. The toe loop was never right in the first place doing a dig the toe and waltz jump thing which a lot of adults seem to do. Should I just ignore them or should I make another attempt at suggesting they get a coach. They will have to unlearn and relearn everything. They said that they don’t want to compete though which is fair enough but wouldn’t you want to do things the right way or am I just not being empathetic?

tstop4me

Final Flight
Country
United-States
I'd say leave him alone. Coaches are expensive; maybe he doesn't have the money. And if he's having fun, nothing wrong with doing it wrong (assuming he doesn't plan to test or compete, just doing it for his personal kicks). Sure beats going round and round in circles.

1111bm

Final Flight
The toe loop was never right in the first place doing a dig the toe and waltz jump thing which a lot of adults seem to do. Should I just ignore them or should I make another attempt at suggesting they get a coach.

I don't know any single adult skater (who started out as an 'actual adult', meaning at least early-to-mid twenties) who has a proper single toe, at least not at the lower levels. They all do them the way you describe, and each and everyone of them was taught by a coach (and I'm talking about skaters from different clubs and different countries).

DanseMacabre

Final Flight
Country
Iceland
So long as they're not doing crazy stuff at the rink that makes them a danger to others, their bad technique is really no one else's business but their own. I know you mean well, but unless they ask for your input, it's safe to assume it's not your place to give it.