Beginning Skating Tips | Golden Skate

Beginning Skating Tips

pianistliz

On the Ice
I've only been ice skating a handful of times and that was a while ago (just skated around the rink, didn't try any moves), but I'm going skating in a couple weeks with my husband, who's even more of a beginner. Now that I've really gotten into the figure skating fandom, I'm thinking of trying a couple basic moves (no jumps, just things like stroking, gliding, swizzles, etc). I'm a professional pianist and kind of an anxious person, so I'm a little paranoid about falling and breaking my wrist or something. Any tips for how not to fall/decrease risk of hurting my arms/hands?

Nimyue

On the Ice
you can wear wrist and knee pads. I'd also recommend a helmet if you're very new.

Also, you know you can get a coach for learning the basics. Joining an Adult LTS is probably more cost effective if that's an option. But figure skating coaches will start with the basics also!

sandraskates

Final Flight
Country
United-States
In Learn to Skate Basic / Adult 1, the following are gone over off-ice on the rubber matting first:

A basic skill for trying to prevent a fall: if you start to feel off-balance, bend forward and put your hands on your knees. "Hands on knees and freeze!"
If you absolutely feel like you will fall, the goal is to not fall backwards on the head. Try to reach toward one side and fall on the most padded part of your body (the side of the butt).

You can wear wrist guards to help lessen the risk of injuring hands and wrists. Also wear gloves because if you do fall your hands won't slide on the ice when you get up.

Stroking, gliding and swizzles are good beginner moves. Have fun!

bunnybarista

If I risk it all, could you break my fall?~
On the Ice
you can wear wrist and knee pads. I'd also recommend a helmet if you're very new.