Toeloop Help - Am I toe-waltzing? | Golden Skate

Toeloop Help - Am I toe-waltzing?

ayyteee

Spectator
Hi all! I'm a beginner adult skater (been skating for a little over a year now), currently working my toeloop. Yesterday when working on it, I was able to record my attempts for once, and now I'm overthinking my entire jumping technique.

What exactly constitutes a toe-waltz or toe-axel? I know toe-assisted jumps, especially the flip and lutz, should have little to no prerotation, but I'm seeing conflicting things regarding the toeloop? Prerotation, as I understand it, is doing part of the revolution on the ice instead of taking off backwards. But sometimes when I attempt to look at slow-mo of competitive skaters doing toeloops, they do seem to be facing forward when their pick leaves the ice?

Here's what my toeloop looks like (CW skater): LFI three-turn, right foot picks behind my left, a little crossed, and a little angled to the right (the direction I'm turning, not completely straight back). Left leg swings through and my heel lifts off the ice last as it crosses my body. My body turns a quarter turn / half turn, and THEN my picking foot leaves the ice, when it's already facing forward. Perform the rest of the jump in air and then land backwards.

Am I toe-waltzing? My coach had originally said as long as I'm swinging my left foot through, I'm doing a proper toeloop, and she's never commented in practices that I'm toe-waltzing, but I don't know if I picked up some bad habits since then when trying to get more height. I know my 3-turn is fairly curved and swing-y going into the jump, and maybe that's why I'm already spinning so much on the ice, so maybe I need the entry curve to be straighter?

I'll definitely ask my coach at my next lesson too, but wanted to ask y'all here as well. :)

Thanks so much for any help!

Snorlax

Rinkside
Country
United-Kingdom