2019 Europeans: Ladies SP | Golden Skate

2019 Europeans: Ladies SP

gsk8

Record Breaker
Country
United-States
az.jpg

The 2019 European Figure Skating Championships kicked off with the Ladies' Short Program on Thursday in Minsk, Belarus. Russia's Alina Zagitova currently leads the pack, followed by fellow countrywoman Sofia Samodurova and Switzerland's Alexia Paganini.
“If something doesn’t go so well, I’ll start the new year fresh,” said the 2018-19 Grand Prix (GP) Final silver medalist. “That’s what I did. I only take the good things with me. After Russian nationals, my parents took away my phone and gave me another one, without internet, so I’m now reading books and I’m studying for school. Studying is important [as] I won’t do figure skating for my whole life.”

More...

What are your thoughts on the Ladies' Short Program?

Last edited:
Zagi should probably not be leading, but I do hope that her issues for the season are behind her and that she can skate lights out for the rest of the season. It would be great to see her skate well at worlds.

Last edited:

BillNeal

You Know I'm a FS Fan...
Record Breaker
Loved Sofia's SP, a very nice debut at her first ISU championships. I'm glad to see the judges giving her more recognition as the season progresses and hopefully the Fed will do the same and send her to Worlds, pending the FP of course.

Also, glad to see the European ladies from the smaller feds rising up to the occasion and challenging for that podium, defying many expectations of a supposed podium sweep. Alexia's reaction to finishing the segment in 3rd place (getting a small medal at the very least) was a highlight.

Merjan

On the Ice
Viveca from Finland did really well, 4th, considering she has or has had a back problem. Great combination. I'm happy for her.

pohatta

On the Ice
Lindfors' 3lz-3t was the highest scoring element of the whole competition, 11,87. Konstantinova was 20th in TES and 3rd in PCS.

andromache

Record Breaker