2017-18 State of U.S. Ladies Skating | Page 329 | Golden Skate

2017-18 State of U.S. Ladies Skating

frida80

Record Breaker
I'm sure she's ready. :yes:

About Karen Chen and her boots. I am not an expert, but there are lots of boot makers which have produced serviceable products for thousands of skaters, including world and Olympic champions. Are Karen's feet so unusual that there isn't a boot out there that she can wear?

Considering that she's gone threw so many boots, it's say yes.

oatmella

陈巍
Record Breaker
She has flat feet and some ankle issues ... I don’t know what else.
I don’t know if other skaters have issues with flat feet? Are they able to find boots?
I find it hard to believe that she can wear out boots faster than like Nathan Chen and all his quads. Maybe part of it is psychological as it seems that she was very attached to her boots from the company that went out of business.

andromache

Record Breaker
Considering that she's gone threw so many boots, it's say yes.

I thought (from reading Michelle Kwan's and Tara Lipinski's autobiographies in middle school) that elite skaters got boots custom made.

I'm not doubting that Karen is having very real problems with her boots, but at a certain point, one wonders if it's a matter of sucking it up and making the adjustments necessary to train and compete in a pair of serviceable boots. I imagine that no pair of skates is 100% perfect for anyone, but you get used to them and make adjustments, and then make sure your next pair of skates is identical to the pair you got used to.

Elaine Zayak lost, like, half of her foot in a lawn mower accident, and she figured out how to make her boots work for her.

tothepointe

On the Ice
And please, will someone give Bradie a fashion makeover (hair, makeup and costuming). Bradie could look downright gorgeous with a few tweaks.

Isn't it nice though to have a national champion whose problems are basically cosmetic. Get her a new look and choreography and let her fly.