Help with "plow" stop | Golden Skate

Help with "plow" stop

rileyyskates

Spectator
Hey! I’m a beginner figure skater (I’ve been skating since September, and just started taking weekly private lessons at the beginning of the month). My coach says I need to learn how to stop and she’s right in case something happens on the ice and I have to stop, but when I go to do a snowplow stop, I go faster and keep moving forward like what she likes to call “caterpillar-ing” Does anyone know how to fix this/help?

silverlily1

On the Ice
Same thing. Not really sure physically what you're doing that you're hoping to fix from the way you describe it, but perhaps this can help: https://youtu.be/rhQY1_bTjVs?si=A_rr_9UNJuwtoVhM

Other than that I'm hoping your coach is helping to make suggestions on how to fix your stops, not just telling you that it's wrong. Work through the advice they give.

WednesdayMarch

Nicer When Fed
Medalist
Country
United-Kingdom
Hey! I’m a beginner figure skater (I’ve been skating since September, and just started taking weekly private lessons at the beginning of the month). My coach says I need to learn how to stop and she’s right in case something happens on the ice and I have to stop, but when I go to do a snowplow stop, I go faster and keep moving forward like what she likes to call “caterpillar-ing” Does anyone know how to fix this/help?