How long does it take to learn the axel jump? | Golden Skate

How long does it take to learn the axel jump?

autumnsun

Spectator
I’m an ISI F4, and I’m just beginning to work on the single axel jump. I’m curious as to how long it will take me to fully learn it to the extent that its passable to ISI’s standards. My goal is to learn it in 2 months, although I know that unless I work incredibly hard I won’t be able to achieve it. I was wondering since I learned my single flip jump in only one lesson with my coach, and well as the loop (in only one lesson), that it won’t take me very long to get the axel if I work hard. Is it possible to get it in 2 months in your experience and opinion? I’m hoping that since I typically skate 4 days a week that it will come quickly for me. I’m working on it off ice and I’m nearly at 1.5 rotations. I’m a little over one and a quarter rotations. Thanks! :)

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
I’m an ISI F4, and I’m just beginning to work on the single axel jump. I’m curious as to how long it will take me to fully learn it to the extent that its passable to ISI’s standards. My goal is to learn it in 2 months, although I know that unless I work incredibly hard I won’t be able to achieve it. I was wondering since I learned my single flip jump in only one lesson with my coach, and well as the loop (in only one lesson), that it won’t take me very long to get the axel if I work hard. Is it possible to get it in 2 months in your experience and opinion? I’m hoping that since I typically skate 4 days a week that it will come quickly for me. I’m working on it off ice and I’m nearly at 1.5 rotations. I’m a little over one and a quarter rotations. Thanks! :)
First of all, this needs to be in Lutz Corner @mods can we move it?