Olivia Smart and Tim Dieck form a partnership | Golden Skate

Olivia Smart and Tim Dieck form a partnership

WednesdayMarch

Nicer When Fed
Medalist
Country
United-Kingdom
Just as well they're not allowed to compete yet, as Olivia is contracted to Dancing on Ice (UK) for the next few weeks. I wish her all the best and I'm sure she'll be happy to be back training after being thrown in at the deep end teaching a complete beginner!

DancingCactus

Final Flight
Are they crazy? I mean, I am German, I think Olivia Smart is great, but who would skate for Germany if they had a choice? It's really not a figure skating nation.

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
I am happy for them both and wish them all the best. I am though scratching my head b/c Germany is incredibly hard to get skating citizenship for. :shrug:

WednesdayMarch

Nicer When Fed
Medalist
Country
United-Kingdom

Seven Sisters

Medalist
Are they crazy? I mean, I am German, I think Olivia Smart is great, but who would skate for Germany if they had a choice? It's really not a figure skating nation.
There may not have been that many German ice dancers on the world stage, but the ones they’ve had have sure been memorable. I never miss an opportunity to provide a link to the infamous Zombie Dance of Zhiganshina and Gazsi (neither of whom were born German IIRC):

There was also a brother/sister team that did a polka to “Like a Virgin” back in the day. And juniors Grimm/Savitsky are coming along nicely :)

CaroLiza_fan

MINIOL ALATMI REKRIS. EZETTIE LATUASV IVAKMHA.
Record Breaker
Country
Northern-Ireland
Delighted to hear that Olivia and Tim are coming back. Looking forward to seeing how they get on together.

I too find Germany a strange choice from the citizenship point of view. But, let's face it, citizenship is only needed for the Olympics. And they've both been there, done that. They mightn't be bothered about whether they do another.