TMC's report on Finlandia Trophy 2014 | Golden Skate

TMC's report on Finlandia Trophy 2014

TMC

Record Breaker
......including a lengthy preamble and very likely a subjective epilogue

I promised to write about my impressions, so - finally - here they are. I want you all (who said they were looking forward to it) to know that I'm really sorry I'm rather late in delivering this report! Suffice it to say that both work (Sunday & Monday) and a subsequent family emergency (all through Monday-Tuesday night) have limited my computer time, so I haven't been able to be quite as timely as I would have liked to. Also, please mind that I write for a living so I type really fast and partly because of that and partly because I have a serious case of keyboard diarrhea, this one's going to be long and by no means strictly limited to the topic at hand :biggrin: So if you are only interested in what I thought about the competition, do skip the next few paragraphs ;-) For now, I only have time to talk about the short dance; tomorrow I'm hoping to add the men's short and ladies' free.

This was my first time at Finlandia Trophy, and also the first time I saw singles figure skating live since the early 90s (!). One reason for this lack of experience is that I don't like to go by myself and I haven't been able to get anyone to go with me in the past, another is that I've lived abroad for years and not had the chance to go anyway. The main reason is that for some unknown reason I developed a phobia of watching skating , either live in person or live on tv, because I became obsessed with the idea that some accident involving heads being split and throats being cut and gallons of blood on the white canvas of ice was bound to happen if I watched a competition. I guess I took the "don't step on the cracks in the sidewalk" -obsession to the next (figure skating) level.