U S Nationals Happiness Meter | Golden Skate

U S Nationals Happiness Meter

TontoK

Hot Tonto
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
It's all done and in the record books now.

How happy are you with the outcomes of each Senior Event? You can also comment on Junior/Novice/etc... I just don't follow those events closely, so I'll refrain.

Let's use an arbitrary 1-10 scale. Here is my happiness meter:

Pairs: 7. I guess the right team won and got the Olympic berth, but it wasn't thrilling. I'm glad Cain/LeDuc came back with a stronger FS.

Dance: 10 +. I am over the moon about this outcome. I've been rooting for Zach and Maddie for ages. I love this team. I've been waning in enthusiasm for Chock/Bates for a couple of years, but I'm now renewing my Fan Club membership. The Shibs are the Shibs - who can NOT love them?

Men: 9
. I thought Nathan did a fantastic job, especially if he was, as Scott Hamilton noted, "sick as a dog." I like Vincent, and he had been on my pre-event podium, so good for him. I like that he went for broke. My only quibble is the Ross situation. I'm a proponent of US Nats being a "trial" although I grudgingly accept that it is not. Under the current rules, if I had been on the selection committee, I'd have made the same decision they did. I'm sad about Max, of course, and he was my biggest personal disappointment.

Ladies: 10. Bradie answered questions about whether her nerves could hold up, now that expectations were higher. Mirai - good for her! I love a good comeback story, and I especially love that she made dang sure that the judges had no choice this time around. I personally enjoy Karen more than Ashley, so I'm happy the way that turned out, too.

So, how do things rank on your Happiness Meter?

Spirals for Miles

Anna Shcherbakova is my World Champion
Record Breaker
Men:
5: I'm glad Nathan won and Vincent medaled but I'm devastated for Jason and for Ross for not being named to the team

Ladies: