What skates? | Golden Skate

What skates?

sorsa0

Spectator
Country
Finland
Hii, I’m a 12 (almost 13) years old. I have been skating for 6 months 1 time a week. I have been doing waltz jumps, and some simple spins. I have no idea what skates should I get. Could someone please help me? I now have the risport venus skates, but they are a bit too small and I would like to have black skates.
Sorry my english is really really bad ):

Last edited:

Sibelius

On the Ice
I'm not sure what your first language is, but your English is certainly better than what I'd be able to accomplish in your native tongue.

Now, as far as skates. The first thing to find out is where to go and get properly fitted. You are at a rink at least once a week to skate. There are presumably coaches (teachers, instructors) and more experienced skaters who would be more than willing to tell you where they get fitted for their boots and blades. It is the most important aspect of buying skates at any level.

As far as specific skates, that would be up to the fitter. I don't know where you are, but some brands are more available in other parts of the world than where I am (U.S.). You are in a Risport now, it's a fine brand and if it's the right fit they make another model up from your current one (Electra) that is available in black. Other well respected brands are Riedell, Jackson, Edea, Graf...each one fits a different foot. My skater, who is the same age as you, just turned 13, has been in Jackson boots since she was 7. She's going into her 9th pair and we keep her in those because they are the right fit.