Advice needed - what's wrong with my backward crossovers | Golden Skate

Advice needed - what's wrong with my backward crossovers

vanko

Spectator
Hello,
let me introduce myself - I'm an adult self taught skater, who started inline skating 13 months ago with no previous experience and moved from inline to ice just 6 weeks ago. usually I skate about 4-5 sessions per week and try to educate myself from online resources.

So about my problem with the backward crossovers. I have watched every instructional video that I have found and I know quite well how the crossovers should be done, at least in theory. My first attempts started somewhere in march, but until today I still cannot make it work as it should. I suppose something in my body position is quite wrong, but cannot grasp exactly how to correct it. I blame my poor upper body ROM (I try to improve it with off ice exercises, but I'm 40, so I don't expect fast results), but I'm not sure if this is the only reason.
If I have to explain it - I just cannot rotate enough backward, and cannot straighten my leg while underpushing. Also it seems that I over rotate and I'm not able to make the circle bigger. Here I will attach links to two videos - first one is just from today. Sorry for the poor quality - it's very shaky, but it's the only video that I have on ice (I skate at outdoor rink and usually at dark). After the crossovers there are my very bad attempts to glide on outside backward edges with closed hips and crossed leg in front. I think that if I master this position, my crossovers will get better, but for the moment it is just bad. I cannot rotate enough my upper body while maintaining the circle, and I don't know if my lack of mobility is the problem, or something else.

https://youtu.be/TAyRbhNU1E0

Here is something from the end of May, on inline skates , but with better quality. Here I don't extend my outward leg, which I try to do now, but maybe most of the problems are the same.