Leg pain | Golden Skate

Leg pain

kikokiko

Spectator
Hello! When jumping on ice, i usually don’t have any pain, however, off ice causes a lot of pain in my landing leg. usually, when it’s starts to become worse i’ll stop practicing off ice for a week, but as soon as i start jumping again, it goes back to hurting. I have recently learnt how to do an axel on ice, and so wouldn’t want to take a huge break from jumping as this may reverse it. Are there any other solutions in trying to stop this pain? i’ve only been jumping doubles and axels off ice so don’t understand why there would be so much pain.

LolaSkatesInJapan

♥ Kami Valieva fan ♥
Final Flight
Country
Israel
I'm not a doctor, but as someone who not long ago had a foot pain, didn't immediately go to the doctor, tried all kinds of home remedies and asked advice online, which only delayed my recovery, I think you should go to a sports hospital or clinic and consult there with an orthopaedist. I wish I could go back in time and had done this immediately when I had the pain.
I'm going to physical therapy 3 times a week, have a trainer in the sports hospital gym who works with me in private sessions and not only I'm better than I was when the injury started, I've improved my skating and am getting stronger, which might prevent future injury.

It's good to share experiences online, but nothing replaces in person examination by professionals.
I wish you find a solution for your pain soon and wish you a quick recovery too.

WednesdayMarch

Nicer When Fed
Medalist
Country
United-Kingdom
It could be the footwear you're using, it could be your technique. Landing on ice is completely different from landing on concrete/wood/whatever. Ask your coach for advice and consider consulting a physiotherapist or sports doctor before doing any more off-ice jumping.

Coach Aimee

PSA Ranked
Rinkside
I agree with both posters above. It's best to see a medical professional.