Adult Beginner Skate Buying Advice | Golden Skate

Adult Beginner Skate Buying Advice

tinglingstars

Spectator
Hello everyone,

I'm an adult beginner finally living in a city with an ice rink and getting the chance to take actual lessons and am now looking into buying proper skates.

I'm 28, about 1,70m and 60kg (5'6 132lbs) and skill wise all I've got going thus far are swizzles in both directions, forward crossovers and whatever general balance and little tricks translate from years of more or less regular inline skating and those 3 months of being in the ice skating society on my exchange semester 5 years ago.

I currently have a pair of Graf Davos Gold recreational skates that are about 10 years old (although they've been rarely used in all this time) and while they're a great step up from rentals, they're a little too big and I'm in a constant fight with my right skate dragging me inwards or slipping when it really shouldn't (which could be equally the shoes fault or my own)😅

My problem is that I don't know of any shops close by that could properly fit me in person.
So to start off, does anyone know a good fitter in Northern Germany or even Southern Denmark?

I know of a shop in Berlin (~3 hours one way) but have read mixed reviews on their quality?
Unfortunately the one shop in Hamburg, which is around the corner, is closing and no longer selling skates. They do however still offer sizings with their fancy digital scan system to give you advice on which boots would fit. But if I can't try on or buy any there I'm wondering if it's even worth the 30€ they're charging when I'll have to go to a different shop to buy anyway.

My skating coach's favorite shop is in Düsseldorf which would be an almost 5h journey one way.
I'll be there some time this year (won a weekend trip) but don't know when that'll happen and it might as well not be until the end of the season which would kinda suck.