Help with purchasing figure skates | Golden Skate

Help with purchasing figure skates

jlia04

Spectator
Hello! I am currently looking to upgrade to a new boot. I have been working with a coach for about 2 years now, but I’m currently not in lessons due to moving to another state. Although I am still skating every day at my new rink. I’m currently in Jackson Excel’s (I’ve had this boot since I started when I was 14!) I am currently working on my axel and my 2sal, 2flip, and 2toeloop. I was thinking in buying the Edea preludio, but I’m not sure if their are any other suggestions? I’m going to a professional figure skating fitter, but I still want to be prepared before hand. Thanks!!

bostonskaterguy86

On the Ice
Country
United-States
Welcome to the forum!! :) You're definitely doing the right thing by going to a professional fitter.

For starters - if you're working on axel/doubles then your current skates aren't stiff enough to properly support you. The Edea Preludio won't be, either. To find the right boot, you need to take into account your height, weight, foot size and shape, and skill level. If you're comfortable sharing those details, there are some wonderfully knowledgeable folks here who could point you in the right direction, and then your fitter can do the rest! But so you can at least be prepared to know what sort of equipment you'll be looking at and how much it will cost - I can say that you'd likely be looking at something along the lines of the Jackson Premiere, Edea Chorus, Risport RF3 Pro or the Riedell Motion or Vega.