Training Advice for Deeper Knees and Ankles? | Golden Skate

Training Advice for Deeper Knees and Ankles?

TQB

Rinkside
Hello!
Quick recap: I skated as a kid (a lot on my own) until teens, then only occasionally/recreationally until last year when I started taking lessons again. I upgraded my skates last month and am feeling pretty good - good enough to be mindful of all my bad habits. Chief among them: bad knees and lazy arms. I've made good progress with arms and posture but I still tend to do everything without sufficient knee bend. Any specific drills/exercises (on or off ice) that will get me deeper and encourage me to stop skating around like an undercooked noodle?

TIA!

shumaislife

Rinkside
Please take this with a grain of salt as I am a total beginner (1st week on ice), but am fairly fit. If I had to pick one off-ice exercise that has helped me feel more comfortable skating is: one-legged squats. It forces me to learn balance while actively bending my knees and straightening, whereas regular stationary balance comes easy for me. Furthermore, it uses the exact muscles that you use for your knee bends on ice. It's also easy to keep it interesting and challenging by changing the free leg position (bent, straight, behind you, in front, etc). Regular squats and close-legged squats are also awesome to get used to bending those knees, or if you need to work up to the one-legged variety. Core exercises will also help with everything too, including maintaining good posture and balance.

I know my knee bends suck because I'm too scared to fall, or lose my balance, or accidentally catch the toepick. Kinda like how many beginners are scared to skate faster for the same reason. Other people seem to have weak knee bends because their skates are too stiff or not yet broken in. I know you've had these skates for a month, but I've been tying mine without the top hooks to help me learn how to knee-bend and break in my boots. Maybe something to try!

1111bm

Final Flight