Weird fear of spirals | Golden Skate

Weird fear of spirals

cxptz

Rinkside
Hi everyone! I'm an adult beginner who's been skating for 1.5 years or so. I've enjoyed it so far and overall I feel like I've been making somewhat steady progress. I have jumps up to a single loop (not a good one but I'm working on it), started working on forward sit spin and back scratch, and started working on a bit of more advanced footwork as well (FI bracket and basic inside twizzles)
However there's one thing that I just can't seem to figure out. Spirals. I can't even do a stable forward spiral on my strong side on flat. I think I have developed a irrational fear of it for some reason. I can hold the position off ice and can hold my edges for pretty long but everytime I try to put things together I just get super scared and end up giving up. It's really weird because I've had bad-ish falls on other elements, including slipping off my toepick when doing a toeloop and landing on my chin, but they never quite lead to any serious mental block like that.
I wonder if anyone had similar experience and have any advice on how to cope with those? I really, really want to be able to at least do basic spirals.

Elija

On the Ice
Haven’t had a similar experience, but when teaching adult skaters in skate school I found most of them preferred learning backward spirals to forward. Perhaps less scary as you feel less like you’re going to fall on your face lol. So maybe give backward a try? They are also easier with speed! The more speed, the less shaky. And always remember to keep your head up - chest down but head up :) good luck!

WednesdayMarch

Nicer When Fed
Medalist
Country
United-Kingdom
British Ice Skating went through a nasty stage of asking for spirals to be skated in a straight line on the flat of the blade for one of the earliest Field Moves levels. Spirals are way easier on curves and, as suggested above, with a bit of speed!