The Journey to replace 20 year old Klingbiels: Advice Solicited | Golden Skate

The Journey to replace 20 year old Klingbiels: Advice Solicited

anomalily

Rinkside
For those following the journey, I'm replacing 20-year-old Klingbeil skates with new custom skates.

I'm a senior MIF/former novice pairs ice skater now doing ice dance. I have to get customs because of my freakish feet (. But I'm also going to get fun colors because I am an adult who wants to spend her adult money on fun colors. I've mentally prepared myself for a high cost, as I've been putting this off for years.

I went to US nationals to talk with all the skate brands, get fitted, and decide on a new brand. I also visited the Avanta factory, and Will took a cast off my foot (he did say he would share it with another brand if I decided to go with them). I've eliminated Aura, Graf, Edea, and Jackson after talking to them/trying them on. Edea tried to sell me on the idea they could get me into stock boots, which was laughable to anyone else. Harlick is over a year out right now, so I knocked them off too.

I am going for an ice dance boot.

I've narrowed it down to:

Avanta ($1950). 8-12 weeks: Will from Avanta actually made the insoles of my current skates 20 years ago! I think if money were no concern, this would be my preference. I like Will, and I know he’ll make a good boot since he made mine before. Also, he’s young (in the world of skating boots) and invested in the sport and boot-making, so building a relationship with him and investing in his company, especially on the west coast, is valuable to me. But it’s a lot more than the other options. Plus $150 for the holographic leather 😂